Current Giveaways:

None right now.

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Waiting On Wednesday!

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

The Two Krishnas by Ghalib Shiraz Dhalla
Release Date: February 1, 2010
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Alyson Books
Pages: 325

Summary: In the tradition of A Fine Balance and The Namesake, The Two Krishnas is a sensual and searing look at infidelity and the nature of desire and faith. At the center of the novel is Pooja Kapoor, a betrayed wife and mother who is forced to question her faith and marriage when she discovers that her banker husband Rahul has fallen in love with a young Muslim illegal immigrant who happens to be their son’s age. Faced with the potential of losing faith in Rahul, divine intervention and family, she is forced to confront painful truths about the past and the duality in God and husband. The Two Krishnas draws inspiration from archetypal Hindu mythology and romantic Sufi poetry, evoking unforgettable characters to explore how, with a new world come new freedoms, and with them, the choices that could change everything we know about those we thought we knew – including ourselves.

My Thoughts: I usually don't like reading books that are based on religion, but this cover is so gorgeous! I think I'm going to give it a try, I love when characters struggle with their morals.

11 comments:

brizmus said...

Wow, the cover of this book really is gorgeous!
And I do love books about religion, so I'm guessing I'll love this one!
I just posted my Waiting on Wednesday:
http://brizmusblogsbooks.blogspot.com/2009/10/waiting-on-wednesday-2.html

Sassy Brit said...

I'm waiting for Hush Hush! :D

Jake Kirk@Teens Read and Write said...

I don't like books that get into religion either. I feel that it takes you out of the story and brings you it into the real world which is the opposite of what it want happening! It IS a neat cover though.

Jaime said...

Oooohhh now,this is something I would read. I am an atheist, but I don't mind reading books that have some aspect of religion in it as it allows me to learn something new and I have always felt that knowledge equals tolerance. However, I won't read a religious book..lol. Does that make sense? I mean, where it is religious propaganda and the main focus is religion instead of the person who is of a particular religious belief.

B.A.M. Book Reviews said...

I usually stay away from books that have religion in them too, just because its such a touchy subject. But I will agree with you, this cover does look pretty dang cool. I love the colors! Great pick this week! :)

-Arielle

Kelsey said...

This looks interesting, I've never heard of it before! You're right the cover is really cool.

Nice pick!

Ladybug said...

I'm not quite sure if this book is for me.

Here's my wow.

Kate said...

Wow, great pick. I love the cover for this too!

Faye said...

the cover is really pretty. it's not something i would read either but i'll check it out :D

dentistry in Sydney said...

Its very nice cover of this book. I like it very much. But I am not sure this book is for me.

Alyssa Kirk @ Teens Read and Write said...

Do love the cover but probably won't be a pick of mine.

Post a Comment

Thank you for leaving a comment, sending you kisses and hugs!! Oops, I am sorry if I slobbered on you. ;)

 
Blog Templates by Delicious Design Studio