Current Giveaways:

None right now.

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Book Review: Skinned (Skinned Trilogy) by Robin Wasserman


Summary: With a premise reminiscent of Mary Pearson’s Adoration of Jenna Fox (2008) and salted with a bit of the nasty competition underlying Cecily von Ziegesar’s Gossip Girls formula, this tale of life after brain-download-into-a-mechanical-body explores the possibilities faced by 17-year-old Lia Kahn, neither fully dead nor currently mortal. Wasserman creates a plausible future where advanced communication and entertainment technology enhance clothing as well as teen social life. Lia was a leader among the rich, shallow girls at her school; now she is an outcast due to her status as a “mech head,” whose plastic body may be tough but whose emotions are those of her flesh and blood peers. A younger sister’s baleful dismissal, problems with past and potential boyfriends, auxiliary issues of fundamentalists, thrill-seeking mech-head games, and an irreversible mistake form the core of the plot, which moves swiftly toward a dystopian denouement. Well composed and engaging, this is an obvious choice not only for Jenna fans but also for readers of Peter Dickinson and George Orwell.
My Review: This book is really good, it's very intriguing and I couldn't put it down! I like Wasserman's writing and sarcastic tone that she gives Lia in the novel. I recommend thos book to readers that love science fiction, because I sure do!

My Rating: 4.4 out of 5
Purchase at: Amazon.com

2 comments:

Kate said...

Great review! I love the sound of this book. I've heard it was good. I also love the cover :)

...MY NAME IS ELENI AND I AM A BOOKAHOLIC... said...

Kate, this book is reallyyy good....I couldn't put it down when I read it, you should read it soon cuz Book 2 comes out in September!!

Post a Comment

Thank you for leaving a comment, sending you kisses and hugs!! Oops, I am sorry if I slobbered on you. ;)

 
Blog Templates by Delicious Design Studio